Subscribe to PRUDHVI INFO by Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Subscribe to PRUDHVI INFO by Email




  • The ministers who were dropped include senior leaders like IT and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar, and Health Minister Harsh Vardhan.
  • With this, the overall strength of the Council of ministers has risen to 78, including the prime minister.
  • After revamp, the Union Council of Ministers now has seven more women members taking their overall strength to 11.

Ceiling on number of ministers:-

  • Before January 1, 2004, the prime minister had the discretion to appoint any number in his council of ministers.
  •  But the Constitution (Ninety-first Amendment) Act in 2003 curbed this power of the prime minister.
  •  This Amendment added clause (1-A) in Article 75 which limited the number of Ministers, including PM to 15 percent of the total number of Lok Sabha members, which is 545.
  • So Prime Minister Modi can have 81 members in the council of ministers.


  • Articles 74 & 75 of the constitution of India deal with the Council of Ministers and Prime Minister. These articles have the below provisions.
  • Article 74(1): There shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the head to aid and advise the President who shall, in the exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice. The president may require the council of ministers to reconsider such advice and the president shall act in accordance with such advice reconsidered.
  • Article 74(2): What advice was tendered to the president cannot be inquired into any court.
  • Article 75(1): The Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President and the other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.
  •  Article 75(2): The Ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the President.
  • Article 75(3): The Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the House of the People.
  •  Article 75(4): Before a Minister enters upon his office, the President shall administer to him the oaths of office and of secrecy according to the forms set out for the purpose in the Third Schedule
  •  Article 75(5): A Minister must be a member of any of the houses within 6 months.
  •  Article 75(6): Parliament will decide the salary and allowances of the Ministers and until parliament decides, so shall be as specified in the Second Schedule.