Line of Actual Control (LAC)


Line of Actual Control (LAC): 

• Sino-Indian border - more than 4000 km long. • Covers western sector (UT of Ladakh); middle sector

(Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand); and the eastern

sector (sikkim and McMahon line of Arunachal

Pradesh). • Dispute with respect to Western and Middle boundary:

 India claims that China occupies more than 38000

sq km in UT of Ladakh.

 1964 - Pakistan ceded a part of Indian territory

in Pakistan occupied Kashmir to China.

 China administers the Aksai Chin area - part of

the present UT of Ladakh in India.

• Dispute with respect to Eastern boundary:

 1914: Shimla Accord signed by the British Indian

authorities, Tibet and China - the boundary between Tibet

and the northeastern India was proposed by British officer Henry McMahon - so the name McMahon line.

 1950: China started to ‘incorporate’ Tibet into the Peoples’ Republic of China - boundary disputes emerged between India and China.

 China officially does not agree with the McMahon line. • No commonly delineated Line of Actual Control (LAC) between

India and China - there are areas along the border where India and China have differing perceptions of the LAC. 

• Indian Government regularly takes up any transgression with the Chinese side through established mechanisms.



Prudhviinfo is one of the leading information website aimied at helping people understand and use knowledge in bette way